Any of you shoot coated bullets in your revolvers?

Dave H.
[subject]
Tuesday, October 12, 2021, 03:31 (920 days ago)

I’m seeing many choices for “coated” lead bullets in 9/357/45/44 diameter, but I’ve never shot any. I think some of the competitive guys shoot them in their autos.

I’m thinking of getting some for my 44s, but I have no idea how they affect the barrel/bore. Appreciate any thoughts or comments on the subject.

I’ve been using them for a few years

steve todd
[subject]
Tuesday, October 12, 2021, 05:53 (920 days ago) @ Dave H.

However, i have no idea how they affect the bore or forcing cone. No leading with coated bullets. I’ve used Acme bullets and Eastwood powder coating powder. The bullets are very soft after heating them to 400*F for 20 minutes (Eastwood’s recommended time and temp). Bullets are slightly harder if dropped in water immediately after “baking”.
Powder coating does take some time, so using them for hunting works for me, although i have a large backlog of cast bullets waiting to be coated. I couldn’t do it for competitions or practice unless buying Acme bullets which are hard bullets that are coated with a different process that doesn’t require baking.
I like the non leading of the bore, and the performance of the powder coated bullets in revolvers, single shot, and semi-auto pistols. I’ve used them in 45Colt, 30 Carbine, 300GNR, 38 Special, 32S&W, and 475 Linebaugh as far as revolvers. I’ve used them in 10mm, 9mm, 380 Auto, and 45ACP in auto loaders, and 454 Casull, 378GNR, 300GNR, 30-30 AI, and 6TCU in single shot pistols. I haven’t shot jacketed bullets (except factory 9mm) for quite a while now, and with availability, probably wont for a long time either.

Tried a few in my sixguns

Jim Taylor
[subject]
Tuesday, October 12, 2021, 06:11 (920 days ago) @ Dave H.

and they worked OK. I prefer the old way of sizing and lubing since I cast my own. I ain't saying it is "better" .. just saying I prefer it.