JT’s excellent article in Guns Magazine. Thank you JT.

SPB
[subject]
Monday, February 24, 2020, 07:02 (1522 days ago)

SEVENTEEN TO SEVENTY-SEVEN

| Campfire Tales |
A Lifetime’s Worth Of Reflections
On The Bad And The Good

By John Taffin

In a very few short weeks, as this is being written, I will be 77 years old. I never ever expected this. My paternal grandfather was killed in an accident at the age of 27. I never knew him. My own father was also killed in an accident at the age of 27 when I was 9 months old, so I never knew him either. And now here I am, outliving both of them by 50 years.

When I was 17 I graduated from high school. Because I got out a year early, it was obvious to me I knew everything. Now that I am 77, I realize I know very little. At the age of 17, nearly everything was important. Now I realize very few things are truly important, except for the top four: Faith, Family, Friends and Firearms—all of which go together to give us Freedom. I have been thoroughly blessed with an abundance of all four, and also realize where all four came from, and it certainly had very little to do with what I did on my own. I shudder to think what my life would’ve been if I only followed my instincts.

When I was 17 I felt I was qualified to judge everyone. Now I realize that’s not my job. When I was 17 I was invincible. Now I realize how fragile I am. Sixty years ago, I could pick up 400 pounds. Now I can pick up a fork. When I was 17 I expected to die young and leave a beautiful corpse. Now, although I’m assured of dying old, the body I leave behind will be beat up and worn out.

Friends are vital too. Here’s John with three of his best ones
(left to right): Gary Reeder, Ben Forkin and John Linebaugh.

Family is one of the most important things in life, and John has a pretty extensive one!

A Sad Decline