John W
Here is the image I got off the Android
Saturday, May 26, 2018, 14:36

[image]

I arose early this AM when my alarm started to play Good Morning Sunshine. What a way to get started. Soon the bigger of the two deaf white cats started to serenade and that din would wake up the dead.

I donned my hunting attire after it had been tick proofed with permethryn at the start of the season. Today would be the last day of both Connecticut and Massachusetts spring wild turkey season. So far it has been a washout as either I can't call in a bird or none show up.

I hopped into the Jeep Cherokee and headed south to a sleepy Connecticut town where I have been hunting for over thirty years. I arrived at the spot and then loaded up Dad's Browning Sweet 16 Lightweight. The gun has a thin tapered modified choke barrel which seems to point like a part of your body. I recall Dad telling me that he probably shot 100 deer in his life with that gun and not once did it jam up. Covered in ice, snow, rain which froze and it still cycled shot after shot. I recall the story of the blue jay. Dad was hunting near Hardwick Massachusetts, which is on the east side of the Quabbin Resevior region on central Massachusetts, and how it helped him get a big deer. He was still hunting through the hemlock swamps of the area and then heard a blue jay screaming. He looked at the jay and right below it at 70 yards was a big buck. A 16 gauge slug hit in the neck and down it went.

I lived on such stories as a child and learned little things like how other wildlife can help point out things that may go unnoticed

I started to walk uphill at the edge of the property. I was saying to myself," I need to come here one day with my gas powered weed trimmer and make a silent path up this hill". The top of this hill was a favorite for dad while deer hunting.